General election & plant politics

 

 

It’s the beginnings of general election mania in the UK.  So, naturally, this is the perfect excuse to have a look at some colourful botanicals, some of their headline properties and my random associations.

BLUE – Blue Tansy Essential Oil

This is an oil extracted from the flower buds of Tanacetum annuum.

It is a deep blue colour.

Benefits: antibacterial, anti-fungal, anti-inflammatory, anti-histaminic, antiviral, insecticide, sedative.

I’ve read that some variants of this plant are poisonous.  Whilst this is not true for Tanacetum annum……..

I had to laugh at the ‘gift’ of this being a  poison. Given the associated ‘conservative’ party colours.  Did I just write that?  Yes, I did.

 

ORANGE – Sea buckthorn pulp CO2 extract

This substance is extracted from the pulp of sea buckthorn berries.

Benefits: it stimulates collegen production, smoothing and refining the surface of the skin.  It can be used in oil and water products and also be added to end products to enhance their efficacy.

Blimey, it is versatile and this resonates for me (works well with any oily brigade and brings efficacy to an already formulated party – sounds like a ‘liberal’ coalition to me…)

 

GREEN – Tamanu oil

This is a plant oil and it is super bright green.

Benefits: good for combating acne scars, fungus, excema, psoriasis etc

Sadly, this oil is not everyones cup of tea as it’s very stinky, but still, oh so wonderful & healing. Because of the stink, it it usually only applied in smaller quantities.

Sadly, this sounds like the predicted polling results for the ethical green party.

 

RED – St Johns Wort macerated oil

St. John’s Wort flowers have traditionally been macerated into oil to make a natural dressing for wounds. It produces a lovely red colour alongside its healing properties.

It comes with a health warning though – it is phototoxic, so not great to use in Spring or Summer.

Sadly that doesn’t bode well for red Labour’s chances on 8th June.

I think I’ll leave it there for now unless people are interested in more colours,  but I’m not in the business of conjuring UKIP purple.

If you are in the UK, I hope this post brought you some light relief ahead of 7 long weeks of endless politics.

Lisa

4 thoughts on “General election & plant politics

  1. I’m not in the UK but we have our own election tensions and I must say that it’s quite a relief to laugh. Colors are quite universal. 🙂 Also, I am preparing my inaugural blog post about colors. Great minds think alike and all that…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, thyis piece off writimg iis nice, my younber siste iss analyzing tese things, this I
    amm going tto leet kmow her. Hellpo there! This blolg pist couldn’t bee
    written anyy better! Readding througth this articl rwminds mme of
    myy predvious roommate! He always keept talking abut this.
    I aam goig to foward this post to him. Prettyy ssure he’ll hhave a vey good read.
    Many thank for sharing! I havee beewn surfiing on-line mopre than 3
    hours thee days, yeet I never discoveered anyy
    fascinating article like yours. It iis llovely prife sufficient forr me.
    In myy opinion, iff alll webmasteds and bloggers maxe exellent content aas youu did, thhe
    internet mightt bee much mor usefu than evwr before. http://foxnews.org

    Like

  3. There’s definately a greeat deeal to know abou thhis subject.
    I lov alll oof thhe poiunts you hhave made. It’s vey effortless tto finnd ouut anny tipic oon webb
    ass compred to books, aas Ifound thius article att tthis web site.
    I’ve bsen surfing on-line greter thawn 3hours nowadays, bbut I neverr foound any inteeresting article like
    yours. It iis lovely worh enough forr me. In mmy view, if alll webmssters annd bloggwrs
    mde juhst riyht content materil ass yyou did, thee
    neet ill likkely bee a llot more helpfil than evger before.

    http://foxnews.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

